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Owned by Tristram

Strong Queens Lift Community

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Join Coach Triddy's Free Community! Women Specific Nutrition Coaching & Training Resources, Courses, and Programs. Get started today for free

Strong Queens Lift Academy

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Nutrition, Exercise and Mindset Coaching For Women Who Are Ready To Make a Change From The Inside Out

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131 contributions to Skool Community
Is course video + google doc still the best way?
I've noticed this pattern Is it still the best way to help your members to pair a video with a google doc? Thoughts?
9
35
New comment 2m ago
2 likes • 55m
I personally like the google doc and video. I think about how mozi delivers his courses over on acquisition dot com. Downloads are like a free gift even if they are very basic, maybe a work sheet or the same thing in the video or even the slides
Its Friday.... Am I in the future?
By the end of the week I want to have achieved something new in my classroom, like a cluster of what's already there, to something new + something fun. There are so many amazing things to do on this Platform, I wish I was a robot some hours 🤣 What are y'all working on this week? And where in the world are ya....this week? 🤣
Poll
18 members have voted
8
55
New comment 24m ago
Its Friday.... Am I in the future?
2 likes • 2h
@Jas Lee-lo Smith 2 hours of meditation? Sheesh
0 likes • 2h
@Jas Lee-lo Smith nah go to Aus its warmer there and more fun things to do lol
addition of @everyone command? 👀 🤞
So I want to get YOUR thoughts on this 💭 Wouldn't it be cool (and convenient) to address everyone in your community all at once with a simple command 🤔 like: @everyone This is a feature available on Discord and I feel would streamline collective communication for the group dramatically 🚀 1) to directly notify everyone they've been addressed (i.e. get their attention) 2) conveniently put up polls, share announcements, etc. and ensure everyone is made aware I know there is a "send e-mail to all members" toggle buuut this could be an alternative option to foster even further participation in your group and on the Skool platform as a whole 🍎 Would love to hear what you guys think! 👇
8
5
New comment 47m ago
0 likes • 4h
Yes without having to use the email everyone option
Skool History Is About To Be Made...
There are moments in the history of this community that will be remembered forever: - Hormozi putting on the Skool Hat for the first time - The infamous "New to Skool, Who Dis?" post. - Kirby & Sam nearly burning the office down during Skool Games Opening Ceremony - The neck-in-neck battle for 10th place between Max Perzon and Kenneth Smith. - And much, much more... In 70 minutes time, you have the opportunity to be a part of the biggest moment yet: A live webinar with two of the biggest living names in the business world. 4 CyberTrucks. No pitch. When Skool history is written, it will be divided into two moments. 1. Before The Season Of Madness 2. After The Season Of Madness The Games will never be the same. The Platform will never be the same. And after the insights and new features that are shared... perhaps you will never be the same either. See you there ⚡
194
162
New comment 23h ago
Skool History Is About To Be Made...
2 likes • 2d
Lfg.
Biggest Lesson From Hormozi 1-Day
The winners of July Skool Games flew to Vegas for 1-Day with Hormozi. I spent 8 hours at the 1-day, this was my biggest takeaway: Every paid community can make roughly 2.5x more money by turning on annual payments. // Here's 7 reasons why (according to Hormozi): 1. Higher Cash Flow “Annual payments boost upfront cash flow by 2.5x compared to monthly” - Hormozi Example: Offering a $1,000 annual plan instead of a $100/month plan generated $20,000 from 20 annual buyers upfront, versus $8,000 from 20 monthly buyers. 2. Improved ROI Window Annual billing gives a 365-day window to prove ROI, as opposed to monthly where results must be justified every 30 days. Example: A customer who might cancel after a few bad months is less likely to do so with an annual plan, where they see the value over a longer period. The results in month 1 can justify the whole year. 3. Reduced Churn Annual billing leads to lower churn and higher retention (2% for annual vs. 10.7% for monthly), keeping customers longer. Example: Companies saw 4x lower churn with annual plans based on ProfitWell data. (Skool will have specific churn data once Annual has been out for longer) 4. Increased Lifetime Value (LTV) Charging more upfront increases LTV. Example: If your average retention is 3 months, then each member at $100/month LTV is $300. By charging annually you increase retention from 3 months to 12 and improve LTV to $1,000. 5. Ad Profitability Increased upfront cash flow from annual memberships allows for more aggressive advertising and higher ad spend, making your ads more profitable. Example: A business that 2x-ed cash flow through annual sales could reinvest the funds into more ads, scaling faster. 6. Easier Upsells Customers are fractal. 20% have 5x the buying power as the other 80%. Annual buyers are more likely to spend more and upgrade to other higher-ticket offers. They are your most valuable customers. Nurture them. Example: Offering an annual plan with exclusive bonuses led to higher upsell rates into VIP programs and events.
354
140
New comment 3d ago
Biggest Lesson From Hormozi 1-Day
6 likes • 7d
me to the annual button
1-10 of 131
Tristram Samoa
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1,175points to level up
@tristram-samoa-7112
I help everyday men and women over 35 get strong and fit using heavy barbell training and simple conditioning, while keeping them injury-free.

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Joined Feb 14, 2022
ENTJ
New Zealand
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